Loveland, Ohio: June 28, 2011

Due to my crash in Florida, it has been 17 days since my last ride.  Even though I had 16 stitches for the crash on May 7th, the crash on June 11th was worse due to the lasting “aches and pains.”  The first crash looked a lot worse because of the blood, but in the crash in Florida, I had a lot more road rash.  I was treating 18 different rash spots both large and small from my last crash.  I also had a huge bruise on my right leg and my right shoulder has a pulled muscle which has been very sore.  As you can see, my face has returned to its original…not pretty but certainly better than the last picture I posted.  Of course, this picture shows that I actually do wear different jerseys. If you look closely, you can see the final stages of the road rash on my face.  I even had road rash on my lip and below it.  My knees still have signs of the accident, but are much better than when initially posted.  See the original post, dated June 11, 2011.

So I went on my ride today with a little trepidation…no, a whole lot of trepidation.  I was a little worried about riding the hills in this area due to my aching shoulder and there are so few roads here that have a shoulder and the lanes aren’t wide enough to accommodate a car and a bike so I decided to go on a very flat ride.  I rode on the same bike path that my granddaughter, Emily, and her dad, Nathan, and I rode when I was doing Ohio in August of last year.  See the original post, dated August 7, 2010.  (Use the search box and input “Loveland.”  (Without the period).  It is a beautiful path with the Little Miami River (or Scenic River) flowing along side the path.

The bike path is the flattest ride I believe I have ever ridden.  I only ascended 204 feet in 30 miles and I felt pretty good about my 16.3 mph speed considering the time since my last ride, still having the aches and pains from the crash, and having to slow or stop for cross streets and pictures.  These bike paths are a part of the “rails to trails” paths that are being created in many states.  So you cross bridges and trestles and pass old train depots and railroad cars. It makes for a very nice ride.  And, of course, there were lots of these…picture at right.

I’m not sure, but I think the picture at right shows an old telegraph…it could be a telephone pole, but it seems a little older to think of it as the former.

I was surprised to see as many riders, walkers, and runners on the path on a Tuesday morning, but it definitely had not reached the point of being de trop.  (I learned a new word last night by trying to prove a point. I was “combing” the dictionary looking for 2-word entries.   By the way, the “p” is silent.)  In case you aren’t familiar with this word, it means “too much or too many.”  Of course, I may be using it incorrectly, but it still sounds good!

The Little Miami River aka Little Miami Scenic River doesn’t have the beauty of the Spokane River in Washington State, but it is nice to see glimpses of it as you are riding a pretty good bike path. It was good to be “on the road again” and I want to do some riding along the way home.  If I do so, I will be posting the rides.

About SteveVarnum

I am 81 years old. I started riding a bicycle at age 70 and like most avid cyclists, fell "in love" with it. For a Grand Adventure, I decided to ride at least 100 miles in every state. I completed all 50 states. I did the 48 contiguous states in May - November 2010 (73) and Hawaii and Alaska 2011 (74). I have ridden > 36,000 miles in past 11 years and at 81, I still am still riding.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Bicycles, Bicycling, Exercise, Ohio, United States and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Loveland, Ohio: June 28, 2011

  1. emily says:

    When was the picture taken? cuz your face looks WAY better.

  2. Candy Fiddes says:

    Hello Steve,
    Good to see you’re out having some fun in beautiful scenery. nothing nourishes the soul like nature.
    Sorry about your last accident. Bobby had mentioned it to me. Be safe and enjoy every day.
    Candy

    • SteveVarnum says:

      Hi, Candy: The bike paths here are about the only safe place to ride…no shoulders or anything. I plan to ride on a different part of the bike path tomorrow…

  3. James says:

    Dad,

    Good to see you dust off and saddle up again.

    By the way, that river looks a whole lot better…WHEN IT HASN’T RAINED EVERY FREAKIN’ DAY OF THE YEAR!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment