Foster, Ohio: June 30, 2011

Riding in West Chester (Cincinnati area) has me a little skittish probably because of having had a couple of crashes in the last couple of months so I decided to ride on the same bike path today that I rode on a couple of days ago.  I started in a little town that I didn’t know existed, Foster, and went through a lot of other small towns or townships along the way.  I started about 5 miles north of where I started on my previous ride and rode south – the opposite direction. 

The bike path is very serene and seems to be heavily used by bikers, runners, skaters, and walkers.  The picture at the left is, I believe, a converted rail bridge over the Little Miami River, pictured at right.

There is evidence of the rails to trails all along the bike path.  There are more than 150 miles (one way) in the system of bike paths and they are all concentrated in the Greater Cincinnati area; however, you can take one part of the bike path  from near downtown Cincinnati to Dayton, Ohio.

All good things must come to an end. The path continued, but I didn’t.  I rode a little over 15 miles and this is where I turned around.  The picture at the right shows a busy street that parallels the bike path.   There is a posted speed limit of 20 mph on the path which is a little higher than most bike paths.  I actually broke the speed limit for a little while.  Like a good citizen, I slowed down…or maybe it was because I started up a little ascent or into a headwind.

Very near the end of my ride, I saw a group of 12 riders in two pace lines.  They looked good, but I’m not sure why they had two pace lines because they crowded the path.  As a lone rider going in the opposite direction, I had no problem getting by them, but I am sure a lot of others in all user categories were a little intimidated by the group.  I really wondered why they would use a  bike path for training (if that is what they were doing). Of course, with the lack of shoulders and country roads in the area there just aren’t a lot of places to ride.

As Candy Fiddes, Bobby’s mom, said in a comment on my last ride, it is good to enjoy the “beautiful scenery…nothing nourishes…like being out in nature.”  I do like this bike path; however, there are so many stop signs to slow you down…and even bring you to a stop.  I didn’t count them today, but I believe there were at least 10 one way and I did an out and back so that makes 20.

 I was pretty tired at the end of a 31-mile ride.  I am sure some cynics would say I was just feeling my age; however, I had rather think this fine-tuned body needs a little time, after being off the bike for 17 days, to get back to peak performance.  Oh, yeah, and all you young guys can stay off for even 3 weeks and have no problem jumping right back on and doing a century, that is, if you have been riding for 20 years.  Of course, I am the eternal optimist…on some days.  I think I can continue riding as long as I can still lift my leg over the seat…I may have to lower my seat some to get a few extra years…or months.  I already tilt the bike a good bit to get my leg over. 

It’s funny how “peer pressure” shapes us.  Until my first event, I always put my left foot on the pedal and pushed off and threw my right leg over…it was much easier to mount; of course, I was still wearing tennis shoes and platform pedals.  Then I entered my first event (again, let me stress, these aren’t races, but no one wants to be last).  I found my way close t the front of the pack and then I noticed everyone was already straddling their bike.  There it is…peer pressure…I threw my leg over, straddled and stood there waiting just like everyone else.

About SteveVarnum

I am 81 years old. I started riding a bicycle at age 70 and like most avid cyclists, fell "in love" with it. For a Grand Adventure, I decided to ride at least 100 miles in every state. I completed all 50 states. I did the 48 contiguous states in May - November 2010 (73) and Hawaii and Alaska 2011 (74). I have ridden > 36,000 miles in past 11 years and at 81, I still am still riding.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Bicycles, Bicycling, Exercise, Ohio, United States and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Foster, Ohio: June 30, 2011

  1. SteveVarnum says:

    I really don’t like the way these emails show the pictures and narrative around the pictures. If you press your mouse button anywhere on the title line, “Foster, Ohio…” you are taken to the actual post and it looks so much neater.

  2. Candy Fiddes says:

    Hello Steve,
    Lucky you wont be in Yuma tomorrow its going to be 120. And how do they celebrate the 4th of July here they float done the Colorado River. I remember being the first female getting to the finish line in 68 or 69 in the very first float they had like this. I lost my shirt on the first jump in so I had nothing to cover my arms. Horrible inner tube burns on my arms and 3 days I pretty much stood in the shower ever hour or so to try and cool my skin off. These days people have hats and sunscreen and covers built on all sorts of floating rafts, tubes, canoes and boats. Its now called the River Regatta. You’re in a much nicer place for the 4th of July so enjoy your rides.
    – Candy

  3. Anna says:

    Glad you were okay! You need to post something new, so I can make more comments!
    -Anna

Leave a comment